Research Career Day

Fotomontage mit Bildern von Forschenden
© Frank Preuss/UDE; Unsplash.com

All About Making a Career in Research

Are you doing your doctorate and would like to know what a career in research means? Do you want to figure out if a research career is the right choice for you? The Research Career Day provides strategic knowledge and personal orientation about career perspectives, career paths and requirements for a career in research.

What does the Research Career Day offer?

The Research Carer Day fosters an early understanding of the most important career factors, career strategies and personal decisions for a career in research. The half day event offers you information and insights into:

  • structural & institutional aspects of a research career
  • career steps, career paths & career strategies
  • career requirements & conditions
  • explicit & implicit career factors
  • personal strategies & decisions to make a career in research
  • aims, benefits & challenges of a research career

The program combines expert input, the exchange of experiences with Postdocs and experienced researchers, and interactive elements. It provides knowledge and experiences to enable an early career orientation for doctoral researchers interested in a research career and helps to understand what can already be important during the doctorate.

Who is invited to participate?

The Research Career Day is aimed at doctoral researchers from all research areas at Ruhr-Universität Bochum, TU Dortmund University, and the University of Duisburg-Essen who would like to find out about a career in research at an early stage.

We offer this event in English to integrate all research areas and research languages.

Next Date: The next Research Career Day will take place in Spring 2022. More information will follow soon.

Program

Information about the program will be available soon.

Registration

You will find details on the registration period here in good time.

Contact

Should you have any questions about the Research Career Day, please get in touch with:

Dr. Ursula Justus
Ruhr-Universität Bochum
RUB Research School
FNO 01/142
Universitätsstraße 150
44801 Bochum
Phone: +49 (0)234 32-28070

ursula.justus@rs.rub.de

Research Career Day

Fotomontage mit Bildern von Forschenden
© Frank Preuss/UDE; Unsplash.com

Forschungskarriere im Fokus

Sie promovieren und planen bereits Ihre nächsten Karriereschritte? Sie überlegen, ob eine Karriere in der Wissenschaft eine passende Option für Sie ist? Der Research Career Day vermittelt strategisches Wissen über Karriereperspektiven, Karrierewege und Anforderungen einer Forschungskarriere und ermöglicht Ihnen persönliche Orientierung.

Was bietet der Research Career Day?

Der Research Career Day vermittelt ein frühzeitiges Verständnis der wichtigsten Faktoren, Strategien und persönlichen Entscheidungen für eine Karriere in der Forschung. Im Mittelpunkt der halbtägigen Veranstaltung stehen folgende Themen:

  • strukturelle und institutionelle Aspekte einer Forschungskarriere
  • Karriereschritte, Karrierewege & Karrierestrategien
  • Karriereanforderungen und -bedingungen
  • explizite und implizite Karrierefaktoren
  • persönlichen Strategien und Entscheidungen für eine Karriere in der Forschung
  • Ziele, Gründe und Herausforderungen einer Forschungskarriere

Das Programm kombiniert Inputs von Expert*innen, Erfahrungsaustausch mit Postdocs und erfahrenen Forscher*innen sowie interaktive Elemente und bietet viel Raum für individuelle Fragen. So erhalten Sie einen umfassenden Überblick darüber, welche Faktoren bei der Entscheidung für eine Forschungskarriere relevant sind und was bereits während der Promotion wichtig sein kann.

An wen richtet sich die Veranstaltung?

Der Research Career Day richtet sich an Doktorand*innen aller Fächergruppen der Ruhr-Universität Bochum, der TU Dortmund und der Universität Duisburg-Essen, die sich früh über eine Wissenschaftskarriere informieren möchten.

Die Veranstaltung findet in englischer Sprache statt.

Nächster Termin: Der nächste Research Career Day findet im Frühjahr 2022 statt. Das Veranstaltungsdatum geben wir zeitnah bekannt.

Programm

Informationen zum Programm folgen in Kürze.

Anmeldung

Informationen zur Anmeldephase finden Sie hier ab Herbst 2021.

Kontakt

Bei Fragen zum Research Career Day wenden Sie sich bitte an:

Dr. Ursula Justus
Ruhr-Universität Bochum
RUB Research School
FNO 01/142
Universitätsstraße 150
44801 Bochum
Tel.: +49 (0)234 32-28070

ursula.justus@rs.rub.de